Blog #2

Response to Lamott’s Shitty First Drafts

The main point the author highlights is the normality of having horrible first drafts. She stresses that even the most brilliant writers do not have the talent of producing a masterpiece the minute they have an idea.  She illustrates her own writing experiences and how her first drafts are absolutely terrible, but how the second and third drafts come into play and produce a fun and readable piece. Lamott also gives the reader tips on how to gain the confidence to write a first draft, and not worry about its shittiness.

This reading was perhaps one of the most relatable I have ever come across. Every single time I plan to write something, I absolutely dread what my first draft is going to look like. Although I do not imagine the voices in my head as mice I’d grab by the tail and put into a jar, I do some similar type of brain activity to get myself focused enough to transform my thoughts into words. I was not surprised to learn that even accomplished writers produce shitty first drafts, but it was reassuring to read it from someone who is experienced in the field.

Lamott’s style of writing really appealed to me– her humor, her sarcasm, the effortlessness of the way her thoughts come together. I did not focus too hard on the content simply because it was already so engaging.

 

Leave a comment